Engineering Qualifications In South Africa

By | January 20, 2020

Choosing to study engineering is more complicated than choosing what kind of engineering you want to study. You also need to decide what kind of engineering qualification you want. There are two main types of engineering qualifications: engineering degrees and engineering diplomas.

  • Engineering degrees are offered at universities and usually take four to five years to complete, after which you are able to register as a professional engineer.
  • An engineering diploma is offered at a university of technology or TVET college and allows you to qualify as an engineering technician and work in a broad range of engineering-related fields. These types of qualifications have different entry requirements:

Engineering Degree

  • National Senior Certificate (Matric)
    • Pure Mathematics (70-80% – APS level 6)
    • Physical Sciences (70-80% – APS level 6)
    • English or Afrikaans (60-70% – APS level 5)

Engineering Diploma

  • National Senior Certificate (Matric) with Pure Maths or
  • N3 Certificate in Engineering Studies (to complete your N3 certificate you will need to complete your N1 and N2 certificates)

Each of these qualifications has its own benefits, so you should make your decision based on which one is best suited to you.

Also On Engineering hub :   How Much Will Engineering School Cost In South Africa