University Of Cape Town Faculty of Engineering

By | January 21, 2020

The department offers a fully integrated undergraduate civil engineering programme comprising up-to-date courses in all the traditional branches of civil engineering, such as structures, steel and concrete materials, geotechnics, hydraulics, water supply, wastewater treatment and transportation. UCT’s Bachelor of Science (Eng) degree in Civil Engineering is fully accredited with the Engineering Council of South Africa.

The degree requires a minimum of four years of study. The disciplines of civil engineering at UCT are:

  • Structural Engineering
  • Structural Materials
  • Urban Engineering
  • Transport Studies
  • Water Management
  • Hydraulic Engineering
  • Geotechnical Engineering

Postgraduate studies

The department offers a wide range of postgraduate studies which are linked to research in the fields of transport studies, concreted and materials structural integrity, geotechnical engineering, structural engineering and mechanics, urban water management and water quality engineering.

Masters degree programmes are offered which comprise different levels of research versus course work, thus allowing students to educate themselves according to their particular strengths and career choices. Postgraduate courses vary in duration from one year to three years. Some courses are offered during the University semesters while others are offered during a block week.

For detailed information please visit the Department of Civil Engineering website.

Tel: 021 650 2699

Physical address
5th level, New Engineering Building
Madiba Circle, Upper Campus,
University of Cape Town, Rondebosch

Also On Engineering hub :   University of Stellenbosch Faculty of Engineering